Resources for new writers

After a nice talk with Jonathan Maberry (whose new book “Patient Zero” is excellent!), I have decided that perhaps the focus of this blog should change.

I am still in the process of learning all about the publishing industry, and it occurs to me that I am not alone.   Perhaps instead of just discussing my own personal writing I should instead be discussing the processes I have taken in order to get a book finished, find a publisher, locate an agent, and traverse the strange world hidden behind the curtain.

To that end, I will begin with listing a number of very reliable source of information: blogs for starting writers.  Future blogs will discuss the query letters I have used (what worked, what didn’t), what I’ve done to promote myself, ways to get reviews, and so on.  

I also plan on having interviews with agents, published writers, and editors where I can ask their advice.  

If you follow, you can learn along with me, and perhaps avoid my mistakes while capitalizing on my successes.  

So let’s start by giving a list of  resources.  This list was compiled by Janice Gable Bashman.  Thanks, Janice!

A Newbie’s Guide to Publishing – http://jakonrath.blogspot.com/

Alice’s CWIM Blog – http://www.cwim.blogspot.com/

Anthology News and Reviews – http://anthologynewsandreviews.blogspot.com/

BookEnds, LLC – A Literary Agency – http://bookendslitagency.blogspot.com/

Buzz, Balls & Hype – http://mjroseblog.typepad.com/buzz_balls_hype/

Crowe’s Nest – http://acrowesnest.blogspot.com/

by Ken Levine (more TV writing) – http://kenlevine.blogspot.com/

Editorial Ass – http://editorialass.blogspot.com/

Evil Editor – http://evileditor.blogspot.com/

Guide to Literary Agent’s Editor’s Blog – http://www.guidetoliteraryagents.com/blog/

Janet Reid, Literary Agent – http://jetreidliterary.blogspot.com/

Nathan Bransford – Literary Agent – http://nathanbransford.blogspot.com/

Pub Rants – http://pubrants.blogspot.com/

Query Shark – http://queryshark.blogspot.com/

Tess Gerritsen’s Blog –http://tessgerritsen.com/blog/

The Blood-Red Pencil – http://bloodredpencil.blogspot.com/

The Kill Zone – http://killzoneauthors.blogspot.com/

The Rejecter – http://rejecter.blogspot.com/

The Renegade Writer Blog – http://therenegadewriter.com/

There Are No Rules – http://blog.writersdigest.com/norules/

Weekly List of Anthologies – http://writersreliefblog.com/post/Anthologies-Contests.aspx

C. Hope Clark – http://www.hopeclark.blogspot.com/
(and don’t forget to sign up for her free newsletters: Funds for Writers and Funds for Writers for Small Markets)

Jonathan Maberry’s Big, Scary Blog – http://jonathanmaberry.com/

Editor Unleashed – http://editorunleashed.com/

Don Lafferty’s – Practical Social Media Strategies and Tactics for Connecting with Your Public – http://www.donaldlafferty.com/blog/

Seth Godin’s blog (not writing but excellent info on marketing) –http://sethgodin.typepad.com/

Advertisements

One Response

  1. Michael,

    Thanks so much for mentioning FundsforWriters. We welcome all your readers to come take a peek at us. Good list of resources!

    Hope Clark
    FundsforWriters.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: