My Capclave 2014 Schedule

Capclave is a fine little literary SF convention held near Washington DC, which this year will be on the October 10th weekend. The Guest of Honor is Hugo- and Nebula-award winning author Paolo Bacigalupi! I’m anxious to meet him (as I really liked his novel THE WINDUP GIRL). Also in attendance will be Holly Black, Genevieve Valentine, Catherine Asaro, James Morrow, and many more (including me!)small_dodo_transparent

Here are some pictures from last year’s convention.

Here’s my current schedule (subject to change):

So You Want to be a Writer (Friday 4 pm): We did it before and we’ll do it again! Authors discuss how they became a writer, and why you should(n’t) Writers share their experiences and offer advice to those interested in becoming a professional writer. Pay it forward. With panelists Brenda W. Clough, Dina Leacock, Will McIntosh, Michael A. Ventrella, and Allen Wold

The Greatest Animated Films (Friday 6 pm): A debate over a list of the greatest animated films. Can we agree on a top ten list for the best or will the panel erupt into fisticuffs? With panelists Jim Freund, Larry Hodges, James Maxey, Sherin Nicole, and Michael A. Ventrella

War on Science? (Friday 7 pm): Some of America’s leaders don’t believe in global warming, want creationism taught in schools, and others want to ban human cloning or restrict genetic modified foods. Why this distrust of science? Is it growing? Are political leaders trying to appeal to the ignorant or do they really believe this? And what is the danger to the planet? With panelists Inge Heyer, Walter H. Hunt, Michael A. Ventrella, and Christopher Weuve

Meet the YA authors (Friday 9 pm): Last year’s meet and greet YA authors in a casual setting was such an awesome party that we decided to do it again this year! With Danielle Ackley-McPhail, Paolo Bacigalupi, Holly Black, Annette Klause, L. Jagi Lamplighter, Diana Peterfreund, Jon Skovron, Janine Spendlove, and Michael A. Ventrella

Mass Signing (Saturday 7:30 pm): The Saturday evening mass autographing session! With Danielle Ackley-McPhail, Sarah Avery, Paolo Bacigalupi, Holly Black, Marilyn “Mattie” Brahen, Neil Clarke, Tom Doyle, Andy Duncan, Scott Edelman, Jim Freund, Charles E. Gannon, Max Gladstone, David G. Hartwell, Alma Katsu, Pamela K. Kinney, Barbara Krasnoff, Dina Leacock, James Maxey, Will McIntosh, Mike McPhail, Sunny Moraine, James Morrow, Sarah Pinsker, Benjamin Rosenbaum, Lawrence M. Schoen, Darrell Schweitzer, Alex Shvartsman, Jon Skovron, Alan Smale, Bud Sparhawk, Janine Spendlove, Genevieve Valentine, Michael A. Ventrella, and Lawrence Watt-Evans

Awards Reception and Presentation (Saturday 8:30 pm): The WSFA Small Press Award winner will be announced. The Guest of Honor Gifts will also be presented.

The Eye of Argon (Saturday 11:00 pm): Our panelists read the worst fantasy story ever written, mistakes and all, and if they laugh or read it incorrectly, they are forced to act out the story. Just try not to fall over laughing! At some point, volunteers from the audience can participate and discover firsthand the author’s contentious relationship with spelling, capitalization and punctuation. With panelists Walter H. Hunt, Sarah Pinsker, Ian Randal Strock, Michael A. Ventrella, and Jean Marie Ward

Reading (Ventrella) (Sunday 1:00 pm): I’ll be reading an excerpt from BLOODSUCKERS and maybe a few other things.

%d bloggers like this: